Header Ads

  • Breaking News

    Vice Chancellor of TN Dr.MGR Medical University receives Dr.B.C.Roy Award

    Three doctors from Tamil Nadu have been awarded the prestigious Dr. B.C. Roy National Award and two others, the Hari Om Ashram Alembic Research Award.

    At a ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan on Tuesday, President Pranab Mukherjee distributed the awards, given in various categories and for various years, to the doctors.

    Vice-Chancellor of The Tamil Nadu Dr. MGR Medical Univeristy  Prof.(Dr.)S. Geethalakshmi was given the award in recognition of her outstanding services in the field of socio-medical relief for 2016.

    C. Palanivelu, chairman of Coimbatore-based GEM Hospital received the award in the eminent medical person category for 2015. This is the second time Dr. Palanivelu has got the award — he got it the first time in 2006 in the speciality development category.

    Anand K. Khakhar, programme director, Centre for Liver Diseases and Transplantation at Apollo Hospitals, Chennai received the award for the recognition of best talents in encouraging the development of specialities in different branches in medicine category, also for 2015.

    S. Rajasekaran, chairman, department of orthopaedics, Ganga Hospital, Coimbatore was given the Hari Om Ashram Alembic Research Award for 2008, and P. Sundaresan, senior scientist and head of the Genetics department at the Aravind Medical Research Foundation, Madurai, received the same award for 2010.

    Dr. B.C. Roy Award is given in each of the following categories: Statesmanship of the Highest Order in India, Medical man-cum-Statesman, Eminent Medical Person, Eminent person in Philosophy, Eminent person in Science and Eminent person in Arts.

    Source: The Hindu

    No comments

    Your feedback is important to us.
    Do not post spam comments, it will be immediately removed upon our review.
    Avoid including website URLs in your comments.

    Post Top Ad

    Post Bottom Ad